Call Us Toll-Free
  •  1 877 390 5745
  •  0808 189 1375
  •  1 800 737 403
  • Enquire Now

Travellers’ Feedback & Reviews

At Southern Africa Travel we take great time and effort in planning unique safari holidays: picking just the right lodges, ensuring smooth-running logistics, arranging transfers and activities (and much, much more). As passionate travellers ourselves we can’t help but get excited about these incredible trips that we put together, and love hearing back from our clients once they’re safely home in their own countries.

Take a look at some of our recent feedback, accommodation reviews and safari highlights.


Southern Africa Travel on SafariBookings

Southern Africa Travel on SafariBookings

Southern Africa Travel is listed on SafariBookings.com; an online travel resource used to compare and book African safaris.

Once clients have travelled with us, we work with SafariBookings to collect their feedback. This has led to our 5-star rating and many a glowing review. 


We had an absolutely wonderful time!

Posted  |  Review by , USA


We had an absolutely wonderful time!  The itinerary was perfect!  We would highly recommend you to anyone we know looking to book a trip to South Africa.

We were met timely by all transfers and our guides and personnel at the resorts we incredible!

Thank you so much!

Kathy


Everything went to plan

Posted  |  Review by , United Kingdom  |  Travelled in May 2017


We had a wonderful holiday to Zambia, thank you!

Everything went to plan and we saw some amazing game and were so well looked after!

We are already thinking of returning to Africa for the first two weeks of August next year to Namibia and Botswana. We hope this is an area you cover.


Unforgettable vacation that will remain in our minds and hearts for ever.

Posted  |  Review by , Germany  |  Travelled in May 2017


We are back home in Germany. The African experience was absolutely amazing and I would like to thank you for picking a diversified scope of locations to give us a broader flavour about southern Africa.

Botswana is a fascinating place and we were extremely well impressed with the folks we met.So focused on getting better and at the same time pleasantly confident and with a big smile illuminating everything around them. In the whining world we live in they were just encouraging and refreshing.

Botswana lounges were all spectacular. Leroo La Tau was my favourite from the people interaction stand point .They really make you feel at home. Camp Okavango is the best from the facilities stand point but not too many large animals, as to be expected due to its location.

Chitabe my second best. Lost of animals, great folks and lovely facilities. Chobe was back closer to the luxury hotels you see around, although lots of animals. And again service was spotless and prime on all of them.

Then Cape Town has a fantastic natural beauty everywhere. We went to the wineries, the penguins, and everywhere with a very competent and professional guide.

Thank you so much for the great job you did for us.

Unforgettable vacation that will remain in our minds and hearts for ever.


Could have stayed another 2 weeks

Posted  |  Review by , USA  |  Travelled in May 2017


Hi Sandi,

We made it home A-ok. Great trip! We have a blog, if you want to check it out. I haven’t quite finished the copy, but I posted a lot of photos.

Thank you again for rearranging flights, etc. for us after our little error. It worked out great. The Galton House was fine, but paled by comparison to the Olive Grove. The accomodations were great, the staff was wonderful, and the food, perfect. Ate our first Oryx here.

The two camps were both great in their own ways. Although Little Kulala was very posh, we actually enjoyed Desert Rhino more. We had our own private guide, Herunga, who was amazing. At 26 he was a wealth of knowledge, had a great sense of humor, and was a true gentleman. One could easily tell that the rest of the staff really enjoyed what they did and this translated to a very enjoyable stay for the guests.

Our only regret on the trip was not seeing more of Namibia. Could have stayed another 2 weeks to see the Skeleton Coast from the ground (the flight over was spectacular, perfect weather, no fog, got to see both shipwrecks and the flamingos), Damarland, and Etosha. Maybe another time. I think our next trip to Africa will be to see the gorillas in Uganda or Rwanda (heard the daily permits are now up to $1500 USD) and the migration in Kenya or Tanzania.

We will certainly be happy to recommend you to anyone planning a trip to southern Africa.

Thanks again,
Craig and Jeri


We had a blast!

Posted  |  Review by , USA  |  Travelled in May 2017


Hi Sandi,

Thank you for all your help with our African travels - we had a blast! The elephant experience was absolutely the best!

We will definitely keep you in mind for our next adventure!

All the best,
Jenny


It really was an amazing experience

Posted  |  Review by , USA  |  Travelled in May 2017


Thank you so much Sandi! 

A few details that are top of mind: it was really helpful to have the transportation facilitators at the airports and for transfers, particularly across the Zambia/Botswana border. There is so much to do in and around Cape Town, which was so beautiful, that I'm planning to go back at some point and use it as a home base for a longer period of time. We loved, loved, loved La Residence and I will definitely plan to return there in the future while visiting Stellenbosch, which we didn't have time to visit. I wouldn't have wanted to be anywhere else in Zambia - the President was there while we stayed! 

Our guide at Stanley's Camp (Oz) was just incredible. I would recommend anyone that is able to request him because he's so knowledgeable and enthusiastic. We had so much room to explore in Botswana on our drives that we felt very lucky and we really enjoyed the various people we met on the drives and shared dinners with afterward. We did wish that the service there would have been more attentive in that we had some inconsistent and awkward situations. The food was quite delicious here, by the way, and the newer female manager was really great. I think she will get everyone into sync as time goes on.

For Dulini Lodge, the location of the lodge and accommodation were perfect. This was definitely more of a luxurious experience with the "surprise" breakfast in the bush during the morning safari and champagne under the trees, etc. The safari experience was much more orchestrated and seemed less organic (and the 10ish acres were limiting and repetitive), particularly since we would see so many other jeeps on the road and lots of coordination between on animal sightings, etc. I think that's to be expected in the area, though, and we still saw incredible animals.

It really was an amazing experience. We both feel like you did a great job of putting together an itinerary to make the most of our time and cover a lot of ground. Thank you for all that you did for us and we'll be referring you to anyone who is heading your way in the future!

Melinda


Will definitely use your service again

Posted  |  Review by , USA  |  Travelled in February 2017


Hi Sandi,

Thank you for a wonderful trip. We had a great time. Will definitely use your service again and recommend to friends and families. 

Have a great weekend.

Best regards,
Rebecca Nichols 


We had a fabulous holiday in South Africa.

Posted  |  Review by , UK  |  Travelled in January 2017


Sandi,

Thanks for all your help we had a fabulous holiday in South Africa, and we will be back later this year or the start of 2018. We'll get back in touch for all your recommendations for our next trip.

Very best regards and a Happy 2017,
Chris Wood


Thanks again for the perfect organisation.

Posted  |  Review by , Switzerland  |  Travelled in December 2016


Hi Liz

Yes, unfortunately we arrived yesterday back home. We had a great time in South Africa and could have stayed a few days longer easily. But everything has an end!

During our 3-week stay we experienced the diversity of the Eastern and Western Cape area and learned a lot about the country. The trip was very well organised – thank you very much. A great thank you also from Angelika. She very much appreciated the birthday greetings!

Here is a short summary of the different places:

  • Cape Town – Cape Cadogan: Good hotel, top service by local guides, Cape Peninsula and township tour very informative, Robben Island and Table mountin a must, Waterfront very touristic but nice to see how they converted the old harbour area.
  • Paternoster - Abalone House: Nice change after the city. Peaceful and relaxing. Top room with large terrace and jaccuci at Abalone House. Food at the hotel (Reubens) not to be recommended. Wonderful beach.
  • Cederberg - Kagga Kamma: Another sharp change from the seaside. Already the drive to get there with the gravel road was an experience. Overwhelming landscape. Very romantic dinners arround the fireplace. Expected a bit more from the quad bike safari, it was more a sport than seeing places and getting information.
  • Franschhoek – Leeu House: Top hotel with excellent service. Very central so easy to go out for a walk. Went to Stellenbosch one afternoon but were happy to haven chosen Franschhoek.
  • Whale Coast - Agulhas Country Lodge: Good for one night and to shorten the transfer to Oudtshoorn. Except for being the southernmost point of Africa, not much to see. Hotel very authetic with interiors taken from an old house in the Kalahari. Nevertheless, a few things should be maintained to keep up the standard. Dinner can be recommended.
  • Oudtshoorn -  De Zeekoe: Very nice location of the hotel and good quality service. Meerkat trip a must. Ostrich farm nearby very informative.
  • Knysna  - The Turbine Hotel: Fantastic location to stay. Food (dinner) in their restaurant the worst we had on our tour.
  • The Sands @ St. Francis: Top hotel with fantastic view. Wonderful beaches at low tide. Good for hours of beach walking. Went also to Plattenberg Bay - a must.
  • Kariega: Saved the best for last. The lodge and the game drives absolutely high class.

All in all a wonderful trip. Luckily we planned enough time at each location so there was always time to relax and enjoy. Would not recommend doing this in less time.

Thanks again Liz for the perfect organisation. We will certainly recommend Southern Africa Travel to our frinds, and if we come again to South Africa or any other place in Africa we will choose you again.

Best regards,
Thomas Rüegge


Southern Africa was FANTASTIC!

Posted  |  Review by , United States  |  Travelled in November 2016


Good afternoon Monique, 

Southern Africa was FANTASTIC! The trip was very organized and went smoothly. Everything met or beat expectations except the lodging at Idube.

Thanks for all of your hard work and help. I would definitely recommend your services for anyone looking to travel to Africa.

Jim