Call Us Toll-Free
  •  1 877 390 5745
  •  0808 189 1375
  •  1 800 737 403
  • Enquire Now

Travellers’ Feedback & Reviews

At Southern Africa Travel we take great time and effort in planning unique safari holidays: picking just the right lodges, ensuring smooth-running logistics, arranging transfers and activities (and much, much more). As passionate travellers ourselves we can’t help but get excited about these incredible trips that we put together, and love hearing back from our clients once they’re safely home in their own countries.

Take a look at some of our recent feedback, accommodation reviews and safari highlights.


Southern Africa Travel on SafariBookings

Southern Africa Travel on SafariBookings

Southern Africa Travel is listed on SafariBookings.com; an online travel resource used to compare and book African safaris.

Once clients have travelled with us, we work with SafariBookings to collect their feedback. This has led to our 5-star rating and many a glowing review. 


I’m so glad I found you to help me with the planning of our trip.

Posted  |  Review by , United States  |  Travelled in July 2016


Tanya,

We had a wonderful trip!! All connections were perfectly smooth. Dave and I were both extremely impressed with the charter air service in Namibia - pilots so friendly, take-offs and landings exactly when scheduled and snacks on the planes as well :)

All lodgings were fantastic. I have to say it's hard for me to pick between Tswalu and Hoanib as my favorite. Believe it or not, by some stroke of luck, I think we saw the most animals at Hoanib! The friendliness of staff, menus, and level of service were beyond my expectations.

Tswalu is truly an amazing "experience". We had an excellent tracker and guide team. Emanuel was a fantastic host, and all the staff repeatedly bent over backwards to offer assistance.

Hoanib is extremely unique and very well run. I can hardly believe they've only been up and running for 2 years. It may be more desert than some first time visitors are looking for, however, I personally loved it and felt like I was on Mars :) Seeing all the hundreds of seals charging towards the skeleton coast was a thrill for me, along with seeing the desert sands w/ garnet dust spread across. Amazing.

The lodging at Little Ongava was incredible. I don't rave about the overall experience as much because I was less impressed by their meals and it was a little odd for us as we were the only guests there at the time. We loved our guide, Ben. Animal sightings were a little slim during our time there, but he did his very best to find us something exciting to see every day. I have no complaints there.

We had a wonderful two days in beautiful Cape Town. Our guide, Noel, was fun and very chatty, filling us in on all sorts of interesting S. Africa facts. We spent a day driving around the coast and another visiting wine country. BTW, a sommelier at the Saxon gave us excellent recommendations for which wineries to visit. Very helpful and nice hearing from a local expert!

The Saxon was an incredible "welcome" to S. Africa. What a beautiful place and our meal was fantastic.

Tanya, I'm so glad I found you to help me with the planning of our trip. I had reached out to a few of the bigger travel agencies, but you were the first to reach out and I was very impressed that you personally called me so soon after receiving my inquiry.

We definitely hope to return to Africa, perhaps in 3-4 more years, and with our 2 daughters next time. We would both love to see Botswana next!!!

Many thanks for all your wonderful assistance. It was truly a trip of a lifetime. 

All the best,
Ann Fisher (and Dave)


The trip was absolutely fantastic

Posted  |  Review by , New York, USA  |  Travelled in July 2016


Hi Nicky,

First and foremost thank you for all your help and patience when planning our trip to South Africa. The trip was absolutely fantastic and we are extremely grateful to you. I have already offered to give your name to my friends contemplating a similar trip.

Tanda Tula: This tented camp is simply fantastic! The tents are luxurious - king beds, bathroom with double sink, tub and outdoor shower. Even the sheets were heated at night since it was your winter. The staff bends over backwards to please. Chef Ryan is amazing - the food fresh and delicious, he accommodated my eating only vegetables and certain fish with a smile and made me feel special as he did another guest with stringent dietary needs. The tracker and guide (JV and Glen) were wonderful. We got not only to see the big 5 but they went out of their way to make each and every sighting special. Laundry was included which is a real necessity and totally appreciated. I HIGHLY recommend Tanda Tula.

Kapama Karula: This lodge is beyond 5 star! If anything the suites are too luxurious - each has a private plunge pool which is heated, a sitting area, a king bed, gorgeous bathroom area and indoor and outdoor shower. The food for the most part is very good except for the outdoor barbque dinners (2 out of 3 nights) which was for the most part recycled food from previous meals with no real allowance for my dietary needs. The rest of the meals were very good, well prepared with plenty of options. The tracker and guide (Mornay and Edwin) were superb. They went out of their way not only to show us the game but to instruct us on the plants and birds. They were exceptional!

All transfers you arranged were perfect and the guide in Cape Town was fine. We stayed at the 12 Apostles: the hotel is lovely and the restaurant excellent. We also had dinner at Cape Grace which was wonderful as well.

We loved South Africa. Everyone we met was friendly, welcoming and warm. We cannot say enough how much we enjoyed your country and its people.

Thank you for all your help.

Warmly,
Marilyn


hotels were all fantastic & our experience at each place was unique

Posted  |  Review by , Malaysia  |  Travelled in July 2016


Faye, 

Thanks for the email. We had a great trip and loved the tour you designed for us. The hotels were all fantastic and our experience at each place was unique. Delia was very sweet to call ahead to Jock Lodge for us and get us with Lazarus as a guide. We really had a great time.

Realizing that this was a custom tour for us, and you changed the routing from the normal at our request, the only very small issue for us was the long travel day from the Zambezi Queen to Jock Lodge. While everything ran very smoothly and there was no problem with the transfers, it was a long day through 4 countries. We know this was our choice to do, so this is not criticism of the tour. If, in the future others decide to do this direction perhaps having guests fly from Kasane through Joburg to Skukuza might be easier - although may add to the cost. This really is a small thing, and did not detract from our experience.

We are in Cape Town now and Delia was very kind to give us some numbers to call for wine tours. We will be doing that today. Again, thanks for all your help and organization. Everything ran very smoothly and we will be recommending you to our friends.

Regards,
Stephen Sweet


will definitely refer to friends and family!

Posted  |  Review by , Singapore  |  Travelled in June 2016


Hi Monique,

Thanks again for your guidance and services. Was a great trip, and my parents and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, and will definitely refer to friends and family! Thanks so much.

Cheers,
Yu Minjie


We had the trip of a lifetime!

Posted  |  Review by , United States  |  Travelled in June 2016


We just got back after 38 hours of travel, feeling pooped ... But the trip was fabulous, beyond our expectations. The Delta and Deserts organization is so impressive, and the friendliness and the warmth of the people in all locations was such an important part of our enjoyment. 

We totally loved Botswana, and the game drives, birding, boat trips, etc were stunning. I recorded 96 species of birds, almost all of which were identified by our guides.  All our guides were wonderful, but I have to say Moses at Camp Okavango was the best guide we've ever encountered, and we've encountered some excellent ones!

Anyway,  I wanted to write you BEFORE reality took over, while the glow was still fresh, even after 38 straight hours of return travel (all of which went very smoothly, by the way).  We also loved our brief time in Victoria Falls, including the walking tour of the Falls and the Zambezi River cruise, which was awesome.

So ... thanks again for all your help.  We had the trip of a lifetime!

Bruce & Amy


“memories that will make us smile for the rest of our lives!”

Posted  |  Review by , United States  |  Travelled in June 2016


Dear Suzaan,

I want to thank you for working with me this past year on helping plan such an epic adventure!  We all had an amazing time and have memories that will make us smile for the rest of our lives!  From the selection of the accomodations, to the restaurant recommendations and all the side excursions, you helped make our vacation one that we will cherish forever!  It could not have been planned any better (minus the issues in Livingstone!).  We lucked out with the weather and all of our flights were on time!  And thank you for working with the other girls on their internal flights.  

Tom and I talked this morning and we do know that in the near future (ok perhaps in a couple of years), we would definitely like to go to Namibia and other places (perhaps even return to Cape Town and Dulini).  I hope that you are still at Southern Africa Travel since I would love to have you as an agent again!  And I will recommend you and the agency to any friends thinking of an epic African adventure.

Thank you once again, and if you ever get to New York, please let us know!!

Warm Regards,
Penni


it was a really great vacation for the both of us

Posted  |  Review by , Singapore  |  Travelled in May 2016


Hello Sandi,

We're back safely from Namibia. We had a wonderful time in Namibia, all the flights & arrangements went without a hitch. 

Thank you for putting together such a great itinerary for us. The lodges/camps and flights were all very professionally run and managed and it was a really great vacation for the both of us.

Cheers, John


We had a wonderful holiday

Posted  |  Review by , United Kingdom  |  Travelled in December 2015


We had a wonderful holiday.  The arrangements worked out really well. We did lots of things -  visited some vineyards, walked with elephants at Storm River, descended into the Cango caves, walked to the Cape of Good Hope, re-visited Kirstenbosch etc etc.

The hotels were very high quality other than de Opstal which was mediocre (we recommend that you don’t use it again or the Black Swan restaurant). The Bartholomeus Klip is very special – very peaceful but with the advantage of the adjacent game reserve. We walked there with the bontebok, ostriches & eland  for instance.

The food and wine in the hotels was first class and the staff very friendly.


our 3rd visit now and it just keeps getting better and better.

Posted  |  Review by , United Kingdom  |  Travelled in November 2015


Yes, home safely but long journey, good long sleep last night!

We had a fantastic holiday, our 3rd visit now and it just keeps getting better and better. 

 

Kwandwe was out of this world, the property, the service, the lot was awesome.

Fancourt was awesome, even the little hiccup with tee time and changing of rooms, we thoroughly enjoyed it there and didn't want to leave.

Hermanus is beautiful. Oceans Eleven is nice and in a great location.

Stellenbosch is nice, but probably prefer Franschoekk. The Oude Werf was nice, our room was at the front of hotel so was noisy, a mixture of old room with new contemporary bathroom.

SeaFive in Camps Bay is stunning. They upgraded us from a garden room to mountain view room which was great. It felt we had the whole place to ourselves.

 

Before we came away, we were already thinking about where to go next year...we shook hands over dinner on one of our last nights that we would be coming back to South Africa after having such a great holiday.


all good things must come to an end

Posted  |  Review by , United Kingdom  |  Travelled in November 2015


We are safely back home and went back to work today, we have a saying that goes "all good things must come to an end" which really sums up how we are feeling after our wonderful holiday.

Thank you so much for all of your help, we really appreciated having somebody recommend suitable accommodation for us, they were all really good, in fact Sea Five was great. Marco and his team couldn't have done anymore for us, we felt like royalty!!!

We have had such a great time we have spent a lot of time talking about our next visit and how we might change things, so I guess that tells you what we think of your beautiful country.