Call Us Toll-Free
  •  1 877 390 5745
  •  0808 189 1375
  •  1 800 737 403
  • Enquire Now

Travellers’ Feedback & Reviews

At Southern Africa Travel we take great time and effort in planning unique safari holidays: picking just the right lodges, ensuring smooth-running logistics, arranging transfers and activities (and much, much more). As passionate travellers ourselves we can’t help but get excited about these incredible trips that we put together, and love hearing back from our clients once they’re safely home in their own countries.

Take a look at some of our recent feedback, accommodation reviews and safari highlights.


Southern Africa Travel on SafariBookings

Southern Africa Travel on SafariBookings

Southern Africa Travel is listed on SafariBookings.com; an online travel resource used to compare and book African safaris.

Once clients have travelled with us, we work with SafariBookings to collect their feedback. This has led to our 5-star rating and many a glowing review. 


Amazing ... Your itinerary exceeded all expectations

Posted  |  Review by , Cape Town  |  Travelled in March 2011


We've just returned from our FABULOUS trip to East Africa and have already started raving about it to friends and family. What a magnificent part of the world, and a truly special trip for us! Thank you for all your hard work in accommodating our budget restrictions while also booking us into terrific accommodation - Ryan's sister commented multiple times that she couldn't believe what amazing places we were staying in, your itinerary exceeded all expectations.

Thank you also for arranging the "honeymoon alert" to Serena lodges - we were greeted by bowls of fruit and cakes, which was a much appreciated special touch as we celebrated our first anniversary! Thanks again - as always, you and Giltedge have given us an African experience that we will talk about for years to come. Oh, and we've already more or less convinced Ryan's mom & stepdad and my parents that they must follow in our footsteps, so watch this space! 


You made everything so seamless we felt really on holiday

Posted  |  Review by  |  Travelled in February 2011


The unpacking is done and we are settling back into the snowy winter conditions.  We have a mini snow storm today with the temperatures at -8C.  Not quite as HOT as Cape Town! Thanks for organizing a most memorable trip for us.  We learnt so much about South Africa and its people during our stay.  We hope to find an occasion to bring the family for a visit.  You made everything so seamless we felt really on holiday; choosing our wine was the most difficult decision of the day! 


La Residence was indeed fabulous

Posted  |  Review by , Amsterdam  |  Travelled in March 2011


I would like to thank you again for all the arrangements. My parents, Regine and I were most pleased with the quality of the accommodation and other arrangements including the guided tours. La Residence was indeed fabulous and we enjoyed the very personal service we received there.


Special mention should be made for the excellent organisation and attention to detail

Posted  |  Review by , Switzerland  |  Travelled in March 2011


This, simply to let you know that Valerie and I are now safely back home after having spent a most enjoyable holiday in your beautiful country. We had a very relaxing time at The Last Word and the two young ladies who run the hotel were very attentive and friendly. Franschhoek was delightful and we kept ourselves busy viewing and visiting the many places of interest.  The time passed far too quickly.

The battlefield tour was both moving and memorable. We certainly made the right choice in selecting Fugitives Drift. I would like to go back again one day. In closing, special mention should be made for the excellent organisation and attention to detail, given to us by Lauren. She was great and you must immediately double her salary!!! 


So much game viewing it was unbelievable

Posted  |  Review by


We had a fantastic time, honestly couldn’t fault any of it. Mombo was just superb – highly recommend it to anyone considering safari. So much game viewing it was unbelievable, by far the best we went to, and also the best food and best variety of food. Very nice rooms and a fantastic main area. Selinda was very nice too.  Exeter Lodge probably had the best rooms of the lot – big baths and plunge pools in each room. One&Only Hotel was great as always. La Colombe and Le Quartier Francais restaurants were both excellent – personally I thought La Colombe was better and one of the best meals I’ve ever had! Thanks for all your help. 


Our first experience with Safaris! Unforgettable.

Posted  |  Review by


First, thank you for organizing everything to perfection! All transfers were perfectly timed and all were right on time – compliments to Bushtracks, Mfafa and Maucotours. Compliments also to the guys in Johannesburg – the half day tour was very informative, especially the tour of the Apartheid museum gave us unforgettable insights.

Toko Leya was great. Very personal service, everybody very friendly, rooms spacious and luxurious, great location, great food. Game drive and tour of Victoria Falls very interesting. Savanna Private Game Reserve - Our first experience with Safaris! Unforgettable and we have already plans for further visits of this type! 

The people at Savanna welcomed us like we were old friends, the safaris were spectacular – we have seen the BIG 7 with the exception of a buffalo on our first day!! Oliver’s was very comfortable, big rooms, good service and food. Golf at Leopard Creek was special too.

Definitely yes to Africa – we will love to come back for safaris. And definitely YES to Southern Africa Travel – you made our trip easy and comfortable, thank you very much for your efforts!! 


I would tell all my friends planning to come to Africa that they should contact you

Posted  |  Review by , Turkey  |  Travelled in November 2010


We are now back to home after a 24 hour travel. I really would like to thank you for the very good organization from the beginning to the end. We all enjoyed it very much. Our guides were very helpful.

I especially would like to thank Jimi. I forgot to say goodbye to him while running after the children at the airport. So I would really appreciate if you could forward him my greetings.

Thank you again for everything and I would tell all my friends planning to come to Africa that they should contact you. Best regards from very cold Turkey


We don’t believe there could be anything better than Londolozi

Posted  |  Review by , Atlanta  |  Travelled in September 2010


What a fantastic trip. We greatly appreciate all that you did for us. Your suggestion to stay at the Londolozi Granite Suites in Sabi Sands was wonderful. We had not heard anything about Londolozi before, since most of our friends have stayed at Singita or Mala Mala. I obviously only know what they told us which sounded great, but we don’t believe there could be anything better than Londolozi especially the Granite Suites. All of the Mantis properties near Cape Town were great and ending our stay at Cape Grace Hotel was perfect.


I lost my heart somewhere in Africa

Posted  |  Review by , New York  |  Travelled in June 2010


I cannot say enough thanks for all that you did for Jake and I. We LOVE South Africa and Zambia, somewhere along the way I lost my heart somewhere in Africa. I thought that Victoria Falls (was) a little piece of heaven on earth. Jake and I truly look forward to planning future trips with in the very near future.


We want to thank you again for putting together this spectacular schedule

Posted  |  Review by  |  Travelled in June 2010


Kim and I are quite amazed at the beauty of La Residence.

We want to thank you again for putting together this spectacular schedule for this once in a lifetime trip. We will be calling you in 4 years for the World Cup in Brazil so brush up on your Portuguese!!

Congratulations to you and all of South Africa for hosting a magnificent World Cup!’