Call Us Toll-Free
  •  1 877 390 5745
  •  0808 189 1375
  •  1 800 737 403
  • Enquire Now

Travellers’ Feedback & Reviews

At Southern Africa Travel we take great time and effort in planning unique safari holidays: picking just the right lodges, ensuring smooth-running logistics, arranging transfers and activities (and much, much more). As passionate travellers ourselves we can’t help but get excited about these incredible trips that we put together, and love hearing back from our clients once they’re safely home in their own countries.

Take a look at some of our recent feedback, accommodation reviews and safari highlights.


Southern Africa Travel on SafariBookings

Southern Africa Travel on SafariBookings

Southern Africa Travel is listed on SafariBookings.com; an online travel resource used to compare and book African safaris.

Once clients have travelled with us, we work with SafariBookings to collect their feedback. This has led to our 5-star rating and many a glowing review. 


“memories that will make us smile for the rest of our lives!”

Posted  |  Review by , United States  |  Travelled in June 2016


Dear Suzaan,

I want to thank you for working with me this past year on helping plan such an epic adventure!  We all had an amazing time and have memories that will make us smile for the rest of our lives!  From the selection of the accomodations, to the restaurant recommendations and all the side excursions, you helped make our vacation one that we will cherish forever!  It could not have been planned any better (minus the issues in Livingstone!).  We lucked out with the weather and all of our flights were on time!  And thank you for working with the other girls on their internal flights.  

Tom and I talked this morning and we do know that in the near future (ok perhaps in a couple of years), we would definitely like to go to Namibia and other places (perhaps even return to Cape Town and Dulini).  I hope that you are still at Southern Africa Travel since I would love to have you as an agent again!  And I will recommend you and the agency to any friends thinking of an epic African adventure.

Thank you once again, and if you ever get to New York, please let us know!!

Warm Regards,
Penni


it was a really great vacation for the both of us

Posted  |  Review by , Singapore  |  Travelled in May 2016


Hello Sandi,

We're back safely from Namibia. We had a wonderful time in Namibia, all the flights & arrangements went without a hitch. 

Thank you for putting together such a great itinerary for us. The lodges/camps and flights were all very professionally run and managed and it was a really great vacation for the both of us.

Cheers, John


We had a wonderful holiday

Posted  |  Review by , United Kingdom  |  Travelled in December 2015


We had a wonderful holiday.  The arrangements worked out really well. We did lots of things -  visited some vineyards, walked with elephants at Storm River, descended into the Cango caves, walked to the Cape of Good Hope, re-visited Kirstenbosch etc etc.

The hotels were very high quality other than de Opstal which was mediocre (we recommend that you don’t use it again or the Black Swan restaurant). The Bartholomeus Klip is very special – very peaceful but with the advantage of the adjacent game reserve. We walked there with the bontebok, ostriches & eland  for instance.

The food and wine in the hotels was first class and the staff very friendly.


our 3rd visit now and it just keeps getting better and better.

Posted  |  Review by , United Kingdom  |  Travelled in November 2015


Yes, home safely but long journey, good long sleep last night!

We had a fantastic holiday, our 3rd visit now and it just keeps getting better and better. 

 

Kwandwe was out of this world, the property, the service, the lot was awesome.

Fancourt was awesome, even the little hiccup with tee time and changing of rooms, we thoroughly enjoyed it there and didn't want to leave.

Hermanus is beautiful. Oceans Eleven is nice and in a great location.

Stellenbosch is nice, but probably prefer Franschoekk. The Oude Werf was nice, our room was at the front of hotel so was noisy, a mixture of old room with new contemporary bathroom.

SeaFive in Camps Bay is stunning. They upgraded us from a garden room to mountain view room which was great. It felt we had the whole place to ourselves.

 

Before we came away, we were already thinking about where to go next year...we shook hands over dinner on one of our last nights that we would be coming back to South Africa after having such a great holiday.


all good things must come to an end

Posted  |  Review by , United Kingdom  |  Travelled in November 2015


We are safely back home and went back to work today, we have a saying that goes "all good things must come to an end" which really sums up how we are feeling after our wonderful holiday.

Thank you so much for all of your help, we really appreciated having somebody recommend suitable accommodation for us, they were all really good, in fact Sea Five was great. Marco and his team couldn't have done anymore for us, we felt like royalty!!!

We have had such a great time we have spent a lot of time talking about our next visit and how we might change things, so I guess that tells you what we think of your beautiful country.


We were absolutely blown away…

Posted  |  Review by , USA  |  Travelled in October 2015


We are finally back in the US after almost a full month out of the country. Thank you SO MUCH for putting together such an amazing collection of hotels for our South African adventure. We were absolutely blown away by the safari "tents" at Kariega, and The Residence in J'Burg was truly one of the best hotels we've ever experienced. Our only regret was not having more time to spend at Kariega, but that's just incentive to return! 


We had a really amazing time and totally switched off from the real world!

Posted  |  Review by , Ireland  |  Travelled in August 2015


Hi Monique,

Apologies for the delay-we both got caught up in work!

Upon arrival at Johannesburg it was very nice to be met by a representative and brought to check-in and security for our flight to Livingstone.

We really enjoyed our few days “chilling out” in Livingstone and we definitely needed this time as we were exhausted after the wedding. Very nice hotel, the cruise on the Zambezi was just beautiful. So glad we included this in our trip; the Victoria Falls were amazing and it was lovely to have a guide to ourselves. We went to the cheetah experience which was one of the highlights of our trip.

Onto the safari…

This was the most amazing experience of our lives. We would have stayed for a month! We were treated like royalty-gorgeous touches like having our bath filled upon arrival to a very well stocked bar and snacks. The staff were extremely friendly and we met the owners while there who are such nice people. The food was absolutely terrific. They fed us every few hours!

The safari drives were amazing-we got to see a lot while there  (including the big 5, twice!), even the ranger was impressed. We felt like we were part of a family while there and I cannot recommend Savannah enough. We will definitely go back.

 

Cape Town:

Really nice hotel and again some nice touches, like champagne and cakes in our room on arrival. Very good location, car parking, close to lots of bars and restaurants and convenient for the tour buses. Felt a lot safer than I thought we would and we had no problems at all.

Hermanus:

We drove from Cape Town down to the Cape of Good Hope and onto Hermanus. I wouldn’t really recommend staying for more than one night here. The guest house wasn’t great and there didn’t seem to be anything to do other than whale watching which was terrific. The food in the guest house was pretty awful, we were served raw scrambled eggs for breakfast.

Franschoek:

Such a beautiful end to our honeymoon. The hotel was just gorgeous, and again we were upgraded as we were on honeymoon. Really friendly staff and lovely location in the centre of the town, close to lots of vineyards! Dinner in The Tasting Room was the perfect end to our honeymoon…it was spectacular!

 

We had a really amazing time and totally switched off from the real world!Thank you so much for your help, everything was so well organised..transfers, flights all went so smoothly. We will be recommending you to all our engaged friends!!

 

Gráinne and Ciarán


Great holidays & excellent organising!

Posted  |  Review by , Switzerland  |  Travelled in July 2015


We had a great holiday & excellent organising by Monique.

Kruger & Sabi Sands safaris were the highlight. We also appeared to get the best rooms at the properties: very appreciated!

Thanks for great holidays!


The trip was the best trip we have ever taken

Posted  |  Review by , United States  |  Travelled in July 2015


The trip was the best trip we have ever taken.  We can’t wait to go back!

I would not ever stay at Camp Moremi again though, as there were several cape buffalo that took up residence at the camp and we had to run from them with our guide escort in the dark on our first night there. They terrorized us for our entire stay. We were never able to go to our tent alone even during the day as they were hanging out around our tent  :(  It was unsettling to say the least.  Also showers provided no privacy. That is something unsettling as well.

Chobe Lodge was perfection. Victoria Falls Hotel was beautiful and we loved it, but food was very expensive and not many vegetarian options.

All in all it was an amazing trip!

Thanks so much for all your help!


Magical is the adjective I use to describe this trip

Posted  |  Review by , United States  |  Travelled in June 2015


First and foremost, I want to thank you for the wonderful trip you put together for us.  We are still singing your praises and I have given your name to a couple of different people who are thinking of planning a trip to South Africa.  You were so wonderful to work with and I cannot thank you enough for everything.  South Africa stole a piece of our hearts and we will return in a couple of years.  In fact, out of all of the places we have traveled domestically and internationally, I have never cried leaving an area, but I did when I had to leave Kruger. Magical is the adjective I use to describe this trip.

The Victoria and Alfred Hotel was in a perfect location, the room was lovely and we enjoyed watching the people on the plaza, and the service there could not have been better.  Excellent recommendation.  Ian was our tour guide on the city tour and the Cape of Good Hope Tour and he was knowledgeable and we enjoyed him

Thank you for the upgrade to the Victoria Falls Hotel in Zimbabwe.  The food, entertainment, and accommodations were top-notch as was the staff.  Victoria Falls was awesome to see. 

Then there was Jock Safari Lodge.  Wow!  We would stay there again in a minute.  It is a small and intimate lodge, well-kept and so friendly.  We loved our room and the open area around our room.  The food was unbelievable and the guide we had (Cliff) was so good and interesting.  We loved him.  The safari vehicles sat only two per row so each person had a window seat.  As we drove through Kruger we saw vehicles that had five people per row and we were so happy we had the benefit of what Jock had to offer. 

The Davinci in Sandton was elegant and impressive with its very modern décor.  Again, the people could not have been nicer or more accommodating to our needs and wants.  It was a perfect location to the malls and we did walk those.  Our trip to the Apartheid Museum was interesting and we were amazed at how similar our history is to yours.

South African Air was a pleasure to fly.  I wish the American airlines would take lessons from them.  Every flight was on time and the seats were roomy as was the leg room.

We went onto Zulu Nyala which was not part of what you planned and it was not as wonderful.  We had a nice time but….The next time you and I work together, you will have a hand in the whole trip!  We want to see more!!!! 

Thank you again so much: you made our vacation so wonderful.